Setsuko Thurlow in "The Vow From Hiroshima"

  • en
Film & Other Media

Mar 20226
11:00a.m.

ONLINE
Toronto
Canada

The Vow From Hiroshima
A documentary portrait plus Q&A with Setsuko Thurlow
Sunday, March 6, 2022
Pacific 11am  |  Mountain 12noon |  Central  1pm  |  Eastern 2pm

To mark the week surrounding International Women’s Day the Toronto NAJC and NAJC Human Rights Committee honours Setsuko Thurlow C.M., founder of Japanese Family Services in Toronto and former Toronto NAJC Board member. This is the first event in our 2022 Online Anniversary Human Rights Series.

The Vow From Hiroshima is an intimate portrait of Setsuko Thurlow, a passionate, 90-year-old survivor of the atomic bomb in Hiroshima. Her moving story is told through the lens of her growing friendship with a second generation survivor, Mitchie Takeuchi.”

Setsuko Thurlow is a graduate of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work, earning a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree. As a survivor of the bombing of Hiroshima in 1945, she knows first-hand the devastating effects of nuclear warfare.

Ms.Thurlow has worked tirelessly to campaign against nuclear weapons and is a leading figure in its movement, playing a key role to push the United Nations to adopt a landmark treaty outlawing nuclear weapons. She is a Member of the Order of Canada and the recipient of numerous other awards and honours. In 2017, Ms. Thurlow accepted the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).

Watch Trailer

 

Masaji . Última actualización Feb 27, 2022 8:25 a.m.


Reciba novedades

Regístrese para recibir actualizaciones por email

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Colaborar con el proyecto

Descubra a los Nikkei

Discover Nikkei es un espacio para conectarse con otros y compartir experiencias nikkei. Para que siga creciendo este proyecto necesitamos tu ayuda!

Manera de colaborar >>

Proyecto Japanese American National Museum


Principal patrocinador The Nippon Foundation