BEGIN:VCALENDAR VERSION:2.0 PRODID:-//PYVOBJECT//NONSGML Version 1//EN BEGIN:VEVENT UID:events.uid.6483@www.discovernikkei.org DTSTART:20211105T000000Z DTEND:20211105T000000Z DESCRIPTION:This virtual international symposium is designed to introduce t he latest research on Japanese Brazilian literature in both Japanese and P ortuguese languages\, in conjunction with the recently digitized <em>Buraj iru Jiho</em> newspaper\, held at The <a href="https://www.bunkyo.org.br/b r/museu-historico/">Historical Museum of Japanese Immigration in Brazil</a > in São Paulo and now available on the <a href="https://hojishinbun.hoov er.org/">Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection</a>.\n\n \n\n \n\nNovember 5\, 2021\n\n9:00am-12:45pm (PST) 2:00pm-5:45pm (BRT)\n\n \n\n \n\nThis virtu al symposium is free and open to the public. Register <a href="https://sta nford.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_3fF9-8YmQUGavtoaSE5emg">here</a>\n\nFor any inquiries\, please email: <a href="mailto:hojishinbun_support@stanford .edu">hojishinbun_support@stanford.edu</a>.\n\n \n\n<strong>Program:</str ong>\n\n<strong>Introduction: </strong>9:00 am – 9:10 am PST (2:00 pm – 2:10 pm BRT)\n\n \n\nSeth Jacobowitz\, Interim Resident Director\, Ky oto Consortium for Japanese Studies\n\n \n\nDigitization of Nikkei Newspa per Updates: 9:10 am – 9:15 am PST (2:10 pm – 2:15 pm BRT)\n\n \n\nLi dia Reiko Yamashita\, Chairman of the Board of Trustees\, The Historical M useum of Japanese Immigration in Brazil\n\nKay Ueda\, Curator of the Japan ese Diaspora Collection\, Hoover Institution Library &amp\; Archives\, Sta nford University\n\n \n\n \n\n<strong>Panel 1</strong>\n\nPresenter 1: 9 :15 am – 9:35 am PST (2:15 pm – 2:35 pm BRT)\n\n<em>Koroniago: A less prestigious Japanese language or a language of Japanese-Brazilian identity or a dialect of memory preservation?</em>\n\nLeiko Matsubara Morales\, Pr ofessor of Japanese\, University of São Paulo\n\n \n\nPresenter 2: 9:35 am – 9:55 am PST (2:35 pm – 2:55 pm BRT)\n\n<em>The Postwar Afterlife of Livraria Yendo</em>\n\nTed Mack\, Associate Professor of Modern Japanes e Literature\, University of Washington\n\nQ &amp\; A: 9:55 am – 10:05 a m PST (2:55 pm – 3:05 pm BRT)\n\n \n\n<strong>Panel 2</strong>\n\nPrese nter 3: 10: 05 am- 10: 25 am PST (3:05 pm – 3:25 pm BRT)\n\n<em>Fujin Ra n (Column for Ladies) in the Burajiru Jihô Newspaper: Bilateral Social In fluence (1917-1924)</em>\n\nMonika Okamoto\, Associate Professor of Japane se Literature\, Federal University of Paraná\n\n \n\nPresenter 4: 10:25 am – 10:45 am PST (3:25 pm – 3:45 pm BRT)\n\n<em>From Nihonjinron to M imicry in Ryoki Inoue’s Saga</em>\n\nIgnacio López-Calvo\, Presidential Endowed Chair and Professor of Latin American Literature\, UC Merced\n\n  \n\nPresenter 5: 10:45 am – 11:05 am PST (3:45 pm – 4:05 pm BRT)\n\n <em>The Nikkeijin Literary Identity Transformation in Brazil: An Analysis of Portuguese Language Publications in Japanese-Brazilian Newspapers and L iterary Magazines</em>\n\nClara Fachini Zanirato\, Assistant Professor of Portuguese\, USMA West Point\n\n \n\nQ &amp\; A: 11:05 am – 11: 20 am P ST (4:05 pm – 4:20 pm BRT)\n\nBreak: 11: 20 am – 11:25 am PST (4:20 pm – 4:25 pm BRT)\n\n \n\n<strong>Panel 3</strong>\n\nPresenter 6: 11:25 am – 11: 45 am PST (4:25 pm – 4:45 pm BRT)\n\n<em>Transnationality in Nikkei Women's Arts in Brazil</em>\n\nMichiko Okano\, Professor in the His tory of Asian Art at the Federal\n\nUniversity of São Paulo (UNIFESP)\n\n  \n\nPresenter 7: 11:45 am – 12: 05 pm PST (4:45 pm – 5:05 pm BRT)\n\ n<em>Japanese Dances in Brazil: From Traditional Imagination to Pop Experi ences</em>\n\nChristine Greiner\, Director of the Center of Oriental Studi es\, Pontifical Catholic U. of São Paulo\n\nQ &amp\; A: 12: 05 pm – 12: 15pm PST (5:05 pm – 5:15 pm BRT)\n\n<strong>Discussion: </strong>12: 15 pm – 12:30 pm PST (5:15 pm – 5:30 pm BRT)\n\n<strong>Concluding Remar ks: </strong>12:30 pm – 12:45 pm PST (5:30 pm – 5:45 pm BRT)\n\nEiichi ro Azuma\, Professor of History and Asian American Studies\,\n\nUniversity of Pennsylvania and Hoover Visiting Fellow\n\n \n\n<em>The presentations are primarily in English\, although we accept questions in English\, </e m><em>Portuguese\, and Japanese.</em>\n\n<em>This symposium is supported b y the National Endowment for the Humanities grant no. HC-</em><em>279973-2 1.</em>\n\n<em> </em>\n SUMMARY:Virtual International Symposium Transnational Japanese Diaspora: Pr eserving the Brazilian Nikkei Literary and Cultural Heritage URL:/en/events/2021/11/05/virtual-international-symposium-transnational-jap a/ END:VEVENT END:VCALENDAR