Enlarge Enlarge Licensing

This photo shows the first five pastors of Yahata Baptist Church (it was also sometimes spelled "Yawata") - one of our Southern Baptist Churches in north Kyushu. The first pastor was Toyama. His kanji - 東山 - is usually read "Higashiyama" but his name was Toyama. The second pastor is Tsuruki Arase. These two men served the church from 1904 to 1912.  The 3rd pastor is Shigeru Aoyagi. He was pastor from 1913 to 1917. The 4th pastor is Masajiro Kuroda. He was pastor from 1918 to 1923.  The "present pastor" (fifth pastor) was a pastor by the name of Yoshida.

mhomma — Last modified Sep 18 2020 11:00 p.m.

Get updates

Sign up for email updates

Journal feed
Events feed
Comments feed

Support this project

Discover Nikkei

Discover Nikkei is a place to connect with others and share the Nikkei experience. To continue to sustain and grow this project, we need your help!

Ways to help >>

A project of the Japanese American National Museum

Major support by The Nippon Foundation